New Orleans Symphony

The New Orleans Symphony horn section, ca. 1955.

Back row:    Vince Orso (second horn) Louis Piton (assistant principal) Joseph de Angelis (third)
Front row:    Samuel Ramsay (fourth) Robert Elworthy (principal)
Robert Elworthy later was principal horn of the Minneapolis Symphony.

Louis Piton probably joined the orchestra in the 1944-45 season as second horn. He was fourth horn 1949-52 and assistant principal 1952-56, after which he left the orchestra. It appears that when Christopher Earnest replaced Piton in the middle of the 1955 season the seating was re-ordered to be Elworthy (principal), Orso (assistant principal), Ramsay (second), de Angelis (third), and Earnest (fourth).

Thanks to Christopher Earnest and Norman Schweikert for their assistance.

return to the Sam Ramsay Webpage